top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram - Black Circle

Tokyo, Japan

Great for: It’s Tokyo!

How to get there: I took the overnight bus from Osaka

Best experience: Just seeing everything

Accommodation: Capsule hotel

Hello! こんにちは! (Konnichiwa)

This city has always been one of my life ambitions, as soon as I booked Japan I knew I wanted to see Tokyo, arguably one of the most famous cities in the world. The fashion, the eccentricity, the business, it sounded like another world. I took the overnight bus from Osaka to save my travel fund from denting too much. The first thing I did upon arrival (at about 7am) was take a boat to get a good look at the city.

Tokyo by water

Travelling by boat at this time of morning was wonderfully serene, a contrast to some of the later scenes! Tokyo was wonderful, huge and beautiful. It was predictably extremely busy but everyone was friendly and sweet. Although I knew it’d be manic I really wanted to see the iconic busiest crossing in the world, it was a fairly touristy spot but most people just wanted to cross the road!

Intersection-ing,

The city really does have fun around every corner, while checking out a side street I came across the store Candy Show Time, here I watched two guys make tiny, intricately detailed hard sweets from start to finish, it was an amazing and free show, we all got to try the candy afterwards and the art and finesse that went into such a tiny product was enchanting.

Candy Show Time

The street fashion and shopping scene of Tokyo was stylish, beautiful and almost alien at times! Nothing can really describe it.

Blending in

After a long day of shopping (mostly requests from other people) some time with fluffy friends was much needed and so I checked into one of the best cafes I’ve ever visited, Rabbit Cafe Harajuku Animal rights wise the place seemed sound, the rabbits had plenty of downtime and could hop out of sight any moment. Rabbits are definitely a great animal for cuddling because a) they’re fluffy and little and b) they’ll happily sit and be stroked for ages.

Rabbit cafe

So that was Tokyo! A place I’ve dreamed of visiting since I was a child; busy, expensive, crazy and so completely worth it. I can’t wait to go back again!

-Emmy

bottom of page